• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Where to start learning UE4 programming

This topic is 909 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone,

Around a year ago I started learning the basics of C++.

Now I know most of the basics and I want to start making games with UE4.

I like the idea of programming C++ over using blueprints (if the tasks aren't really small at least), but

I can't really find a good place to learn programming with UE4. The official programming tutorials

seem to be not complete and just learn some basic stuff. I came acros this book as well: http://www.amazon.com/Learning-C-Creating-Games-UE4/dp/1784396575/ref=pd_bxgy_14_img_3?ie=UTF8&refRID=05VJBVF3EB5WV2W49YG5 (Learning C++ by creating games with UE4). 

The last part seems to cover programming in UE4 I think.

So my question: what is a good place to learn how to use UE4 and how to program in UE4 for someone who knows C++?

Advertisement

Thanks for the reaction. I dont know if we mean the same thing with basics, but to give you some

vague idea: everything from simple variables -> polyformism.

I don't know if this is enough. 

Thanks for the advice from the book I will read it then.

I bought the book too when I started dabbling un UE4 some months ago. Book is good, but I on the other Hand expected some more complex topics. Cannot say how much of a help it is to C++ newbs though as I had some C++ expierience to start with.

Found that a lot of the nitty gritty odd details that separate C++ UE4 coding from C# coding in Unity are actually not explained in the book. You try to move past what the book teaches you, and run into problems, then the google search begins.

And with Epic having more than enough Documentation and API Information, but arranged in a less than logical manner (at least for me), I wouldn't have gotten anywhere without google.