Where to start when building an asynchronous multiplayer game

Started by
4 comments, last by siryami 8 years, 6 months ago
Hello, i want to build a mobile game with asynchronous multiplayer. This is my first time doing any kind of multiplayer, so I am not even sure I am approaching this the right way, so let me know if I'm wrong anywhere.
The game I want to make has 2 players vs each other for 3 rounds, so I just need to send data at the end of each round. Also when a player wants to log in or start looking for a match.
Anyway, after doing some research, I read that it would be enough to use cakephp to communicate between the game and the database. I could use POST and GET requests to get and send data from the game to the database. I've done some tests and was able to successfully do this, but now I am wondering,
1. is this safe? If i had a POST url that did modifications to the database, if someone somehow got access to the url and the POST paramaters, they could potentially mess with it.
2. I thought of using a password to send as one of the parameters for a POST so it could be verified. But am i correct in assuming that someone could still get that password somehow, since POSTs aren't protected?
And if the way I am doing this is completely wrong, what should i be doing instead?
And if it matters, doing it in Unity.
Thanks
Advertisement

You need to securely authenticate the client connecting to your server against the user who owns the device.

For iOS, Apple provides a set of APIs to allow your server to authenticate the player's GameCenter account (see this StackOverflow post for a detailed explanation). For Android, there is a very detailed blog posting on Google's equivalent system.

Tristam MacDonald. Ex-BigTech Software Engineer. Future farmer. [https://trist.am]

ok, thanks. I will take a look at this

You first have to choose whether you want to build your own server system, or use the Apple GameCenter and Google Play services.