• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
trentfaris242

Derived Class Constructor from DLL

This topic is 990 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all,

I'm new to creating DLL's in C++. My project is to create a game engine API (not a game) porting some code from another project I did, and then building a small demo on top of this API. Anyways, I'm having trouble with polymorphism where the base class is located in the DLL and the derived class in the implementing program. Let me show some code to explain.

class Base {
public:
    Base(const int x);

protected:
    int x;
};

Base::Base(const int x) {
    this->x = x;
}

class Derived : public Base {
public:
    Derived(const int x);
};

Derived::Derived(const int x) : Base(x) {}

This is pretty standard polymorphism, as I understand it. However, in this case the Base class is located in a DLL, and the program implementing the DLL creates the Derived class. This behavior gives me the classic "LNK2019 ..." linker error. Am I missing some piece of information about polymorphism across DLLs?

Advertisement
This won't work that easily. Take a look at this. There are other ways to deal with the issues involved but especially if classes are involved this is probably closest to what you need.

Edit: I'd also like to point out that working with DLLs, especially if C++ is involved, has a lot of gotchas and restrictions. I would not do it unless I had a very good reason to do it. Edited by BitMaster

This won't work that easily. Take a look at this. There are other ways to deal with the issues involved but especially if classes are involved this is probably closest to what you need.

Edit: I'd also like to point out that working with DLLs, especially if C++ is involved, has a lot of gotchas and restrictions. I would not do it unless I had a very good reason to do it.