• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
AWeeda

Unity How to jump start my new strategy MMOG

This topic is 1144 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all,

I am an ICT dinosaur and I've always been busy with implantation and project management for business software. A long long time ago I used to be a programmer, but that was in the character based Xenix/Unix era using 3rd generation languages. So I do know my way around but I can not call myself a good programmer. Especially not in modern programming languages.

But I am eager to diving into it again because I have this game plan that has been keeping me busy (and awake for many nights) for a few years now. So I decided that I am going to build that game and now i'm investigating on how to get started, or even to get jump started.

The game concerns an MMO like Travian, Forge of Empires, Grepolis, etc.

Off course it should run in any browser and on mobiles and it should support many thousands of simultaneous players

Now my question is: Are there any Open source gaming engines that could help me get jump started? I would need a game engine that for example supports a map, villages with buildings, building with levels, armies, battles, in game messaging/chat, etc.

It would be great if I can change/extend the code where needed to support all the cool functions I designed and it would be great if there is a community or good wiki and/or forum.

I have been looking at www.worldforge.org

Does anyone know this or do you have better suggestions or tips for me?

Thanks a lot in advance!!

Regards,

Albert

Advertisement

FOr what you are trying to do? Not really. Also A good number of the games you mentioned aren't really MMOs. They are more like random server matching.