• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
???? ????? ????

Need help with beginning game programming with C language

This topic is 975 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Guys I really need help as I have no experience in game development and have been given a project by my instructor to develop an innovative game.
I have thought of a game in which we have random trains passing on several tracks that cross each other and the user has to stop some trains so that they might not crash. Can anyone help me with that, I don't know even where to start.
Here is what I know about C,
I know about functions and a bit about arrays.
Our instructor recommended glut for making games.
Also remember I can only use C language.

Regards.

Advertisement

I have to agree with Alberth,  This post discusses breaking your project down into part that can be completed.  Knowing the type of game and the style of game play is important in the starting stages of your game.  To build a game idea you might start out old school and make a paper type game that is playable so you can test your idea before going forward into code.  Coding and building a game at the same time can get very complicated.  Using pen and paper can help you iterate the game design fairly quickly with out having to use your computer.  The more you can get planned before you start programming will help aid you in the development process.  With a working game you will have an idea of the data and game play structure this game will need.