How much does it cost to hire a 2D mobile game artist?

Started by
6 comments, last by Abdou23 8 years, 5 months ago

I was wondering how much do 2D artists charge, I'm a developer and I'm about to finish my first IOS game, but I'm looking for hiring an artist for my second one but I don't really know how this process works. Let's say that for my game I need 4 different characters with their animations (walking - shooting - dying - jumping) and also two different level artwork, how approximately would that cost me ?

Advertisement
It can vary, for my current project I was able to find an inexperienced artist who charged 10/hour for some artwork. He made me artwork for a single tile set. I ended up paying him $400 for the tileset.

I have another artist who is a friend of mine who gave a good deal at $25 per hour when his normal asking price is $40 per hour. I am having him do character sketches. He works fast and I specifically told him not to spend too much time perfecting it. So far I have paid him around $120 and he has two characters sketched out, mind you I still don't have artwork ready to put into the game and no animations. I expect to spend at least another $150 on those two characters. I am skilled enough with art software so I plan on taking the sketches he gives me and actually doing the work of getting them rigged in spriter and animated, but I would expect another few hundred dollars if I hired somebody else to do it.

For your 4 game ready characters with animations, if you use a simple art style and find an artist that can work for little. You may be able to get that between $1000 and $2000, but I feel that is very optimistic. It would probably be a lot more. When estimating how much time or money something will be, always plan on it taking longer or costing more than expected.