Draw 2D empty and filled circle

Started by
12 comments, last by BlackJoker 8 years, 4 months ago

I want to draw 2d circle using line list, which will look something like that, but without empty spaces to look like the solid border:

clip_image006.png

And also I want to draw filled circle usign triangle list or strip.

Does anyone could help me with algorithms for that?

Advertisement

Well cosine and sine are you best friends when it comes to rendering circles.

cosine of an angle equals the x- and sine of an angle equals the y-coordinate.

ehk5.png

Of course you can't generate a "perfect circle". It will always have edges. If you have more vertices the circle will look less angular and vice versa.

I hope this enough of a hint.

Sincerely,
Julien

It's not a shame to make mistakes. As a programmer I am doing mistakes on a daily basis. - JonathanKlein

Well, I know about cos and sin, but I also wish to know how to shift points smoothly that there was no gaps between them? Because even if I rotate points only on 1 degree, It will still have gaps and circle will not looks solid if I want to draw it with horizontal lines like in the screenshot above.

I wouldn't say this is a good solution but.. Create a grid of the desired resolution (for example, if the circle is supposed to be of size d pixels in diameter then you have a grid of size d*d). It could be a simple array of booleans of length d*d. Each position represents a location such that index 0 is (-r, r) and index d*d-1 is (r, -r) thus the centre is 0,0. You then loop though each element and calculate it's distance from the origin (sqrt(x*x + y*y). If it is <= than the radius of your circle then you set the value to true (that will give you a filled circle).