Where do you find your artist?

Started by
11 comments, last by Envy123 8 years, 3 months ago

I am a 3D modeler and some what of a animation artist, mostly I do CGI work and some freelance on the side.

I want to help out Indie developers more as I find that I enjoy that kind of work, how ever looking around I found that requests for 3D artist to work on games is low compared to other kind of 3D work.

a1.) So I was wondering HOW do indie developers look for artist to help them?

a2.) Has any one here ever recruited a artist and if you did how?

a3.) Do you prefer working with a single artist full time or do you switch, hiring a new artist for each job?

a4.) Would you prefer to buy your assets from a store, instead of work with a artist?

a5.) How much do you budget for art?

I know this is market research, however I believe it can help artist and other asset designers to work better with developers.

I have some freelance experience so if you have questions you can ask.

Advertisement

My office doubles as an outsourcing studio, where we connect freelancers with clients who need art. Most of our freelancers are people that we've previously worked with professionally (in full time jobs at previous game studios). Many of the rest are friends-of-friends / word of mouth, or people met through local networking events. A small number find us randomly on the web and ask for work.
On the other side of the coin, clients seem to find us through similar methods -- previous professional contact, word of mouth recommendation, direct meeting through local networking events, or finding us randomly on the web and asking for quotes smile.png