Technical Report on Gaming over the Internet. Some advice? (Newbie)

Started by
1 comment, last by hplus0603 8 years, 4 months ago
Hi there, I am doing a Networks and Data Communications module in my H.Dip, and I choose 'Gaming over the internet' as a topic to write a technical report. However I have never written one before, let alone Networking! Way over my head. I have been thinking on focusing on 'latency', how it is caused, why it is something that it is not wanted, and some ways of fixing it. Do you think this would be sufficient? Could someone suggest a way of planning this out in relation to 'sections' and 'topic headings'? I just can't get a clear plan in my head to get me going, I'm all muddled up. Also, A technical question. Am I correct in saying things like 'Lag Compensation' 'Client Side Prediction' are all 'Application Layer' on the OSI Model? Are these things what the 'Game Networking Engine' achieve? And things like whether to use UDP/TCP are on the Transport Layer? It is at this layer that the actual delay happens am I correct? Because if it is TCP, it has to resend the packets, which is why most high paced multiplayer games choose UDP. Would I mention about the quality of the Physical Layer also I wonder? My main layout at the moment that I am thinking of going with is.. Lit Review - Read the collected papers on networking gaming, and focus on latency when writing this sections, what have they said, what have they suggested. Main section - Discuss latency divided into these headings. -Routing [Network Layer] -UDP/TCP [Transport Layer] -'Netcode' Things like Interpolation, Lag Compensation Conclusions (?) The thing is if my main section is just going through explaining how these different aspects affect latency, is that really a report? And if my lit report is all ready filled with these terms, am I not doing things the wrong way around. Like should I not go over all the basics first and then get into the literature that is out there discussing the