Unity Or Monogame?

Started by
4 comments, last by Dewar 8 years, 4 months ago

Hey,

Been using Unity for a while. It has a lot of stuff, some useful, other stuff not. Would going to Monogame be a good idea? I like simplicity, and not the excessive amount of stuff Unity has. I do like how easy the colliders are to implement, and the amount of tutorials/resources. I want to make 2D pixel games. There's not really that many tutorials on Monogame.

Thanks

What will you make?
Advertisement

Hi,
Just my 2 cents here, but there is quite a big jump between XNA/MonoGame and Unity. They are the perfect example of what is the difference between a framework and a full-blown engine. I'm not a Unity expert, only used it for the short span of checking it out + doing some tutorials, but some examples I know of as big differences:
In XNA/MonoGame:
- you have to roll your own collision+physics system, or you have to use a third party lib like Farseer or Bepu...
- you have a simple game object infrastructure, it works, but I rolled my own, since it is far from the feature-level of the Unity GameObject system.
- you kind-of do not have a rendering system. It is really close to using pure DirectX/OpenGL, although it has a nice API on that front, and a lot of helper functionality, but it has no skinned meshes (animation) and no sophisticated lighting + shader/effect system out of the box.
- there is no Scene/Screen manager, and no extensible editor for putting scenes and game objects together.

Though there are a lot of examples and pre-made sample code which covers most of this, but most of what it provides is hardware accelerated graphics and a small infrastructure layer (e.g.: game-loop, game objects) for game development.
One thing which matches the capabilities of Unity is the content pipeline. It matches its features out of the box, similar in design and it is extensible.