• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Running a method in another thread and get result.

This topic is 872 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I want to have my pathfinding logic in a separate thread. I have little experience with threads and have tried just running a method from a new Runnable() or Thread I am currently trying it with FutureTask but without success.

This is the Callable where call() to run on a separate thread.

public class GetPath implements Callable {

private Coordinate start;
    private Coordinate end;

public GetPath(Coordinate start, Coordinate end) {
        this.start = start;
        this.end = end;
    }

@Override
    public List<Coordinate> call() throws Exception {

IndexedNodeImplementation location = TestMap.mapgraph.getNodeByCoord(start.x, start.y);
        IndexedNodeImplementation destination = TestMap.mapgraph.getNodeByCoord(end.x, end.y);
        GraphPathImplementation resultPath = new GraphPathImplementation();

List<Coordinate> path = new ArrayList<Coordinate>();

TestMap.pathFinder.searchNodePath(location, destination, new HeuristicImplementation(), resultPath);

if (path == null)
        {
            System.out.println("path");
        }

if (resultPath.getCount() > 0)
        {
            for (int i = 1; i < resultPath.getCount(); i++)
            {
                path.add(new Coordinate(resultPath.get(i).origin(), true));
            }
        }
        return path;
    }
} 

So when I give a task to a unit that requires movement this needs to be called and while calculating it should continue with the game. When it is finished it should populate a list with coordinates (the path) and work with that.

private List<Coordinate> path = new ArrayList<Coordinate>();
    FutureTask task;
    ExecutorService executor;