• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
menyo

Threaded pathfinding on dynamic tilemap

This topic is 1046 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am playing with the idea and already did some tests on having pathfinding run on a separate thread. I am very new to threading and I want to explore the possibilities of this since in the game I have in mind I do not need immediate paths. The player does not control units directly but issues orders through the interface. Something like the game Settlers does :

• The player places a building and a unit with the building job enabled can get a order from the building to construct it.
  • The player issues a stockpile to store weapons the stockpile looks for the nearest item and finds a Idle unit preferably nearby with the hauling job enabled.

Now as I understand dynamic and threading are conflicting with each other. I cannot issue all these order simultaneously since unit A might go for the same item as Unit B and things will obviously break. How can I deal with this in a proper way? This is what I am thinking off:

• Stockpile needs item.
  • Stockpile issues a Thread to lookup the item.
  • Thread goes to work.
  • Stockpile needs another item.
  • The thread is still running so it cannot issue another order yet.
  • Thread has finished the job and marked the item as unavailable.
  • Stockpile notices that the Thread is finished and can proceed with the next item.

When an order is cancelled or perhaps the unit has died or the item cannot be reached anymore the item becomes available again. I will also have a list for each type of item so I can have a thread that looks for food and one for weapon run simultaneously. So basically I will have a single thread for each job that handles dynamic data running at a time.