• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
VenturaGames

How to make a sports management game like Football manager?

This topic is 951 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I want to make a game like football manager, for a different sport but not nearly as complex as FM. The sport is unknown but similair to basketball

I am a complete newbie at programming. I don't even know what language to use or how to do it.

I won't be making animations, I want to press start in a game and then see like a "news feed" stating what "happens" in the match.

The actions have to be influenced by the players skills and weeknesses. and also luck. If that is even possible. so for example:

Stats are 0-100

Player 1

Stats

Rebounding: 80

(...)

------

Player 2

stats

rebounding: 70

(...)

so then player 1 will be more likely to get the rebound, but that shouldn't mean that he always gets the rebound because the stat is higher.

So:

-what is the best language/programme to use?

-how do I do that?

-do you have a helpful video tutorial/articel which can help beginners?

Thanks in advance

Edited by VenturaGames

Advertisement
How do you want to present the information to the player?

One of the first successful games I wrote was played by filling out paper forms.

It was basically a fantasy sports league where a batch process printed out a report for each of up to 40 players. Each player paid for membership on a weekly basis.

To play they filled in a simple form and returned it (written form) and I entered their choices into the system with the batch run.

This would then calculate the turn before printing out the sheets.

Such a game can be done by a relative newbie in a couple of weeks and these days could use email, twitter or similar to make decisions and publish match results.