Game loop sucking up CPU

Started by
12 comments, last by swiftcoder 8 years, 3 months ago

I'm new to game programming and am wanting to get some advice about whats going on so far.

I have a single threaded game running the game loop. It seems to be spinning so fast that the CPU gets pegged at 100%. I tried to place a sleep in the thread to relieve the CPU pressure, which worked, except for the fact that i also but my UI thread to sleep and when you try to resize the application when it begins sleeping the app appears to not respond from the users perspective.

Does anyone have any examples/advice? All i want is a simple game loop. Below is the loop i currently have

int Run()
	{
		MSG message{};

// Start Timer
		m_timer.Start();

while (true)
		{
			if (m_isVisible)
			{
				// Tick timer
				m_timer.Tick();

TRACE(L"Seconds Per Frame: %f", m_timer.m_delta);

Update();
				Render();

while (PeekMessage(&message, nullptr, 0, 0, PM_REMOVE))
				{
					DispatchMessage(&message);
				}
			}
			else
			{
				if (BOOL result = GetMessage(&message, 0, 0, 0))
				{
					if (-1 != result)
					{
						DispatchMessage(&message);
					}
				}
			}

if (WM_QUIT == message.message)
			{
				break;
			}
		}
		return message.wParam;
	}
Advertisement

Eating up the CPU is the point of the game loop. If you're rendering using vsync, that will cause it to slow down and not take up the entire CPU. But without vsync or sleeps as a throttling mechanism, taking 100% is by design. If you really want to try using Sleep as a throttle, submit very small values (like 1) and see how that works out for you. Candidly, I would only think about this as a battery life conserving mechanism, and ignore it otherwise.

SlimDX | Ventspace Blog | Twitter | Diverse teams make better games. I am currently hiring capable C++ engine developers in Baltimore, MD.

Candidly, I would only think about this as a battery life conserving mechanism, and ignore it otherwise.