• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Shifar

Where should i start ?

This topic is 917 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am new in Game development and this is my first question in this network.

I've no previous game developing experience in any platform. I've small knowledge in Java and Android application development. Now, I want to create a game for Android platform.

Now the questions.

1. From where should i start ?

I've googled a lot and found many tutorials, but i need some beginners stuff.

1. Can anybody suggest me some good tutorials ?
  2. From where can i learn basic game programming patterns like Game loop, FPS, etc.? A best tutorial link would be very helpful.

3. What type of game should i develop as a beginner?

4. What should i do to develop my skills as a game developer ?

Advertisement

1) Always begin with somewhere small. Make a simple game just to learn the basics of whatever software you decide to use. Do your research to find out which software is best for you and use that for when you create your first few games. My recommendations are: Unity if you want to program by hand and GameMaker if you do not. I prefer programming by hand because it's more flexible, but do whatever is more comfortable. 

2) It depends which software you use. For Unity, I have found good tutorials with Brackeys to learn the basics, and the rest I learned was experimenting when making my own games. GameMaker has tutorials built-in. This is something you may have to research on your own.