• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
SteveHatcher

Replacing ECS with component based architecture, or traditional OOP, or something else?

This topic is 1004 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am asking this question purely out of interest, and hopefully you guys can point some interesting links my way. I am a relatively new C++ programmer. I feel I have the basics down pact, but it is actually putting them all together in a software project that I find very very very very hard.

So I am making a 2d space ship game and came across ECS via this forum. I was intrigued by the concept and ended up using entitiyX in my game. The game is quite simple now (just the player ship, and some enemy ships that shoot at the player) and I am still learning how to properly use entityX to achieve my goals.

To be honest I am now coming to think of ECS as almost a 'convenience game API' for noobs like me that want to do all the stuff a game should do, but can't program it. For example I made it so my spaceship could shoot a spell, a fireball. To do this I created a SpellSpawner component (the invisible 'thing' I assign to entities that can shoot spells), a Spell component (the actual spell that is created), and the SpellSpawner System (the system which implements the spell logic). The main bit of the logic reads

for (entityx::Entity entity : entities.entities_with_components(position, spell))

which allows me to use those entities that have position and spell components,I then create the fireball entity with

SpellCreator(entity.id(), initVelocity, spellPosition.position, spellPosition.heading, spell->spellType, Colors::Orange).create(entities.create(), nullptr);