• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Happy SDE

Non-manual Texture positions addition.

This topic is 905 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have several hundred geometry objects with different shapes.

Each of the objects have per-vertex attributes: Position and Normal.

I would like to use several bump textures to add some scratches on each object.

But I don’t have an artist to perform that task. I am not an artist also =(

Scale of the objects is pretty the same: maximum length difference is about 20 times.

It seems for me it is a good idea somehow to add texture information for each vertex in automatic (programmatic) way.

So if I have a cube 1x1x1 cm, I would like to stretch 1x1 texture on each side.

For a sphere with radius 2, I would like to use the same texture with same proportion ratios: stretches of the material should be look in the same scale.

Overall vertices of all objects is about 1.000.000.

The question is:

How to automate this process: use some already built software/plugin for 3DS Max/write own code?

Is there an algorithm for this in a case if I should write my own code?

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

Writing an algorithm to automatically unwrap spheres or other types of geometry into a uv space is not going to be easy, especially if you don't understand the concepts. I highly suggest opening a modeling tool (Blender is free) and doing some quick unwrapping to see how people do it. For 100 simple objects, it shouldn't take long. A cube and a sphere can be done in about 10 seconds each if you know how to unwrap properly.

dpadam450, on 31 Dec 2015 - 06:46 AM, said: