• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
barzorx

FBXSDK (C++) Animation from multiple files, Texturizing...

This topic is 986 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone! I am new to FBXSDK, and I asked over their forums about how to properly use their SDK to learn, with no success. Most times I search online, I cant find information I need. I have a lot of things I want to learn, specifically texturizing a model and animating a 3D model, but for now I'd like to focus on just animating.

I currently managed to load, and display a mesh, its bones, and scroll through the animations within one FBX files successfuly. That is, in one single fbx file (for example, in their sample humanoid.fbx file), I can load it, and scroll through its animations, display everything, etc. The way I do this is by switching the TakeInfo. as such:

FbxAnimStack * lCurrentAnimationStack = modelScene->FindMember<FbxAnimStack>(mAnimStackArray[currentAnimation]->Buffer());

mCurrentAnimLayer = lCurrentAnimationStack->GetMember<FbxAnimLayer>();

modelScene->SetCurrentAnimationStack(lCurrentAnimationStack);

FbxTakeInfo* lCurrentTakeInfo = modelScene->GetTakeInfo(*(mAnimStackArray[currentAnimation]));

if (lCurrentTakeInfo)
{
mStart = lCurrentTakeInfo->mLocalTimeSpan.GetStart();
mStop = lCurrentTakeInfo->mLocalTimeSpan.GetStop();
}
else
{
// Take the time line value
FbxTimeSpan lTimeLineTimeSpan;
modelScene->GetGlobalSettings().GetTimelineDefaultTimeSpan(lTimeLineTimeSpan);

mStart = lTimeLineTimeSpan.GetStart();
mStop = lTimeLineTimeSpan.GetStop();
}

mCurrentTime = mStart;

Which works nicely. No textures yet, but one step at a time.