• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Dave Haylett

Which development kit to use for my new project?

This topic is 896 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there, I'm new to this forum but I've been programming on and off for many years now. I'm thinking about starting a new project which is a kind of a Windows front-end with lots of 2D bitmap activity, and am uncertain which development kit to use. I did use XNA4.0 and C# last year to start a bitmap game, but found that it didn't let me tinker with bitmaps as much as I wanted to (I wanted to do some fancy masking but I don't think it would let me create off-page workspaces - it was quite rigid in only letting me have one screenspace which I found quite limiting).

Anyway, back to the present day. My project will be Windows-only, because once the user clicks something it will parameter-pass and launch a Windows executable. It involves the user scrolling through a list of items and clicking a couple of things and having a play around. I did write this with VS2003 Express way back when, and the project was quite successful however it was very Windows-like if you know what I mean (list box, drop-down list, click button). Unfortunately I lost the source code and have decided to write a more graphical front-end.

I've been browsing dev kits like Cocos2D and realise there's quite a selection so I thought I'd ask around first to see if anyone could recommend a kit based on what I am trying to achieve. As with when I was using XNA I'm happier writing C# into Visual Studio as opposed to using a 'construction kit' smile.png