Box2D in LibGDX - Throwing body based on swipe angle.

Started by
2 comments, last by Wyrframe 8 years, 3 months ago

Hello everyone,

It's my first time using the Box2D physics engine for a LibGDX project, and i'm struggling with this one thing: I'm trying to swipe a ball (wich is a b2D body) using the fling method from the GestureListener. So, when there's a fling, i apply a force to the ball, like this:

( Excuse my paint skills, hope its understandable... )

https://i.gyazo.com/94e6c3ad347eff9688d707e6bb7f4ce2.png

Here's my fling method so far:

@Override
public boolean fling(float velocityX, float velocityY, int button) {

ball.getBody().setActive(true);
  System.out.println("Mouse pos is " + mouse.toString());
  ball.getBody().applyForce(new Vector2(mouse.x - ball.getBody().getPosition().x, 30), ball.getBody().getWorldCenter(), true);

return super.fling(velocityX, velocityY, button);
}

So, how exaclty could i achive something like in that picture above? Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Advertisement

Well, you're applying a constant vertical force of 30, and a lateral force of (mouse.x - [ball center]), in an attempt to fling the ball towards the mouse. A few questions:

* Does `mouse`, wherever it is, get updated before the fling() method is called? If not, this method will not have the expected results.

* Is `mouse` in world-space coordinates, or screen-space? If the latter, this method will not have the expected results.

* Why aren't you normalizing and then scaling the vector (velocityX,velocityY), since those are exactly the data you're trying to calculate based on `mouse`? See GestureListener.fling(float,float,int).