Use different shaders

Started by
5 comments, last by kubera 8 years, 2 months ago

I'm still learning D3D11 and the logic behind it aswell. Currently, I have only one shader that I am using for pretty much everything. But, at this point, I need multiple shaders. (For shadows for example)

Now, I am loading my shader by using D3D11CompileFromFile in the code that follows:

void Renderer::InitPipeline()
{
	// compile the shaders
	ID3D10Blob *VS, *PS;
	D3DX11CompileFromFile(L"shaders.hlsl", 0, 0, "VShader", "vs_4_0", 0, 0, 0, &VS, 0, 0);
	D3DX11CompileFromFile(L"shaders.hlsl", 0, 0, "PShader", "ps_4_0", 0, 0, 0, &PS, 0, 0);

// create the shader objects
	dev->CreateVertexShader(VS->GetBufferPointer(), VS->GetBufferSize(), NULL, &pVS);
	dev->CreatePixelShader(PS->GetBufferPointer(), PS->GetBufferSize(), NULL, &pPS);

// set the shader objects
	devcon->VSSetShader(pVS, 0, 0);
	devcon->PSSetShader(pPS, 0, 0);

// create the input element object
	D3D11_INPUT_ELEMENT_DESC ied[] =
	{
		{ "POSITION", 0, DXGI_FORMAT_R32G32B32_FLOAT, 0, 0, D3D11_INPUT_PER_VERTEX_DATA, 0 },
		{ "NORMAL", 0, DXGI_FORMAT_R32G32B32_FLOAT, 0, 12, D3D11_INPUT_PER_VERTEX_DATA, 0 },
	};

dev->CreateInputLayout(ied, 2, VS->GetBufferPointer(), VS->GetBufferSize(), &pLayout);
	devcon->IASetInputLayout(pLayout);

// create the constant buffer
	D3D11_BUFFER_DESC bd;
	ZeroMemory(&bd, sizeof(bd));

bd.Usage = D3D11_USAGE_DEFAULT;
	bd.ByteWidth = 176;
	bd.BindFlags = D3D11_BIND_CONSTANT_BUFFER;

dev->CreateBuffer(&bd, NULL, &pCBuffer);

devcon->VSSetConstantBuffers(0, 1, &pCBuffer);
}

The problems are:

1. How can I load a different shader depending on what I need to draw?

2. Design-wise, which solution is the best?

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

You can create a shader management class and then use a function inside the shader management class to load any shader you want and have a pointer stored for each loaded shader so you don't have to load it again.