• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
larsbutler

Unity Unity vs. a more "lean" game engine

This topic is 983 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there, it's been a while since I've posted.

I'm looking to start a new game project. I've been developing software for a long time, and I recently started learning some 3d game programming (through a university class) with jMonkeyEngine. It's going great! I'm getting more and more comfortable with 3d programming. I still have a ton to learn, but after spending just a few days playing around with jMonkeyEngine, I'm getting the feel for it.

The person I'm collaborating with is an artist (2d, 3d, textures, models, level design, etc.). We're trying to find the right tools for our first project, which will be a 3d game with some simple mechanics. He's played around with Unity in the past, and suggested that I check it out. I'm on the fence, to be honest. I'm a software developer at my day job. I like things to be lean, clean, and minimal. I code in vim mostly. I avoid IDEs like the plague, except in the case of Java, which makes my fingers hurt if I don't have some good code completion. ;) jMonkeyEngine appeals to me because I can just start writing code. Every time I've tried to dig into Unity in the past, I never could grok what is going on; it just seems like a lot of magic. It seems bloated and verbose, and the everything seems very tightly coupled together: level design, game objects, and game "scripts" all just thrown into one massive GUI. I found it noisy and unreadable. Despite all of the good things people say about Unity, I honestly just don't have a good first impression of it.