General Pathtracing Rendering and Unity

Started by
6 comments, last by koiava 8 years, 2 months ago

Hi there,

I would like to know more about pathtracing because I would like to integrate this rendering method inside Unity but I absolutely don't know how to begin.

I would be glad to read your advices, whitepapers, code, examples, etc. or anything that might help me and have some guidelines that might show me the right direction to integrate this rendering method and pipeline.

There are some people that did this but I don't know how they did that. I have some knowledge in graphic programming but consider that I am a beginner.

Thank you very much for your help.

Advertisement

It doesn't look like unity allows you to create a different render. Unity supports compute shaders you could implement one through those, but I'm betting a path tracer isn't something you need. They're still not suited well for real time applications.

I think the biggest question here is "why are you doing wanting a path tracer?" Unity is a game engine, and does "on-line" (real-time) rendering techniques, and path tracing is an "off-line" (very much not real-time) rendering. If you're looking for the really vibrant color bleeding, you might be looking for GI lightmap baking techniques instead.

If you really want to implement a path tracer, the best starting point is implementing a raytracer in general. That's what a path tracer is built on top of.

I'm sorry about any spelling or grammar mistakes or any undue brevity, as I'm most likely typing on my phone

"Hell, there's more evidence that we are just living in a frequency wave that flows in harmonic balance creating the universe and all its existence." ~ GDchat

Huh, this guy has a semi real-time solution: http://madebyevan.com/webgl-path-tracing/ that sounds like he did it via shaders.