How to write / setup shaders that support wrinkle maps

Started by
3 comments, last by Gian-Reto 8 years, 2 months ago

So I am not sure if anyone on GD can help, seeing how there seems to be no one yet to have posted a successfull attempt at using wrinkle maps in Unreal Engine 4.

It seems it was possible in UDK...

Now, I am a total noob when it comes to things rigging, or how to use wrinkle maps ANYWHERE, not just in UE4.

So I am NOT really asking about how to set up the Unreal engine shader (though if somebody has a link to that, great).... I am interested in how this is generally done in shaders that allow you to use wrinkle maps. So that I have a better understanding how it COULD work in UE4, and what I need to prepare my model for it.

How are wrinkle maps generally triggered within the game engine?

1) Are there techniques that allow to do it procedurally, to measure edge length / polygon compression and trigger the map blending on a vertex by vertex basis?

2) Do I need to export any kind of special data alongside my animations and use that in the shader to trigger it?

3) Is there any way to "animate vertex colors" and export that alongside the animations, and use the vertex colors to control the map blending?

I am not sure yet that the added fidelity is really worth the hassle and performance cost in my case. I am just trying to get a better understanding of what is needed for creating shaders that use wrinkle maps in general.

EDIT:

searching for more general advice on wrinkle maps, I started to find more helpful pages. Haven't found one yet that did explain the concepts in general though, seems to be just many very specific solutions for specific tools:

Valves Source engine: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Wrinkle_maps

Advertisement

I've not used them in UE4, but on a custom engine.