How does everyone test their hlsl code?

Started by
10 comments, last by roastedamoeba 8 years ago

I started learning hlsl not to long ago, and realized that the book im using is a few years old.

I use rendermonkey to write and test hlsl shaders, and i was wondering what other people are using? Is there something that is actively being dev'd i should be using instead of rendermonkey?

Advertisement

Depends on what you mean by "testing hlsl":

If by testing you mean prototyping an idea or some math; RenderMonkey works since most of the relevant syntax hasn't changed. Unity can also work. Even ShaderToy can work even though it does GLSL, math is still math and porting to HLSL is a bit of find & replace (e.g. vec4 with float4).

If by testing you mean the shader works well in the actual environment it's going to run (i.e. the game), has proper SM 4.0/5.0 syntax, then nothing's best like your own program as testing, considering you implemented a hot reloading feature that detects changes on disk and reloads them automatically. And RenderDoc, Visual Studio Graphics Debugger and GPUPerfStudio for debugging. In that order.

In my game, I have a button that lets me re-load any modified files. Other engines like Unity also support this.

Then you can simply write code while the game is running and watch the results. If you're not sure about something, you can always add "return" statements in the middle of your code to visualize intermediate values.

very cool, and thanks, Ill look into these

I guess I should mention that Im an effects artist, sry about that. I'm using hlsl for shader programming, and I hope to explore directx more when I'm comfortable. shadertoy was one of the sites that got me interested in graphics programming. I hope to be able to make something to add to the awesomeness over there, sooner rather than later