• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
paperplane

DX11 How to compile shaders in DX11

This topic is 1005 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello and sorry if this is a stupid question, I am new to DirectX.

I am working on a project for college (a simple DX11 application) and I'm using Frank Luna's Intro to Game programming with DX11.
The thing is, he uses Effects framework and my professor referred to that framework as being old (I may have misunderstood that, but I don't think I did).

I found some materials that don't use effects framework, but all those were for Windows Metro applications (I am building a win32 application).

So, do I have to download DirectX SDK and use effects framework, or can I get around that with something from Windows SDK?

Thanks for reply and I sorry for any typos, grammar errors (not a native English speaker)

Edited by paperplane

Advertisement

So i just have to create *.hlsl files and read the binaries from *.cso?

That is way easier than I hoped... 

Thank you both for your answers!

If you are using Visual Studio, yes. But there's a little detail: you need to specify what profile you want the shader to compile to (what kind of shader and what version of HLSL). That's pretty easy, you just need to go to the properties of the HLSL file (right-click the file in the solution explorer and click properties) and set it up.

If you need any help and you can't find it on Google or MSDN, just ask.

EDIT: Take a look at this. Look for "Shader type" and "Shader model".

EDIT2: Also, you either need to name your main function "main" or you must set the Entrypoint name parameter to whatever you're using (like PSTextured), so the compiler knows where your code starts from.