• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Alex Dem

OpenGL glBlend not working as expected

This topic is 1022 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there. I'm new to OpenGL and I'm having some difficulties with the blending of drawn objects. I have read much resources around the internet but so far nothing helps. I'm just trying to enable simple blend with no sorting of objects.

Here is what I'm doing to reach the result of the attached picture :

i call :

glEnable( GL_BLEND );
glBlendFunc( GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA );

glDepthMask( GL_FALSE );

//draw transparent objects

glDepthMask( GL_TRUE);

glDisable( GL_BLEND );

On this picture the purple figure have to be blended but it is not. It goes through the silver box, however the color is not blended, but only the color of the box is shown. The alpha factor is 0.1f.

Advertisement

glDisable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);

draw pink object;

glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);

the reason you dont see it is because depth test (initially set to GL_LEQUAL => less or equal) eee tested pixel of pink object is further away from camera than grays box front face, thus even when blending enabled it becomes invisible.

also glDepthMask( GL_FALSE ); disables writing to z buffer but z_test is still working.

Edited by WiredCat

In which order are you drawing the objects and what is the alpha value of the box? It looks like you draw the transparent purple object first with z-writes disabled and then the opaque box with zu writes enabled. In this case the box would be simply drawn on top of the purple object, like in your pictures.

The correct way would be:
1. Render alls opaque objects with z-writes and reads enabled.
2. Render all transparent objects from back to front with z-reads enabled, but z-writes disabled.