• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
WilmingtonHD

Very Very First Steps

This topic is 954 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys my name is William Haynie and I am looking to enter the game development industry after I graduate from High School. I am 100 percent new at programming, design, art, basically everything you can thing of I am a beginner at. What I do have however are ideas, I just don't have the skills or experience to turn those ideas into a product. I am asking for some help, if anyone has helpful advice please let me hear it! Also I wanted to know if anyone knows of any YouTube videos/ channels that I could visit that would help me.

Thanks for your time, I really appreciate it! :)

Advertisement

If you want to be successful at game creation in the long-term, you must have a solid coding skill base. At first, art, FX, and other "frills" are simply distractions which you might later realize that you cannot actually implement with your current skills and/or hardware. Do not spend effort developing art before developing game mechanics. If you are dedicated enough to spend time learning how to code, I would recommend starting with Python or a similar very high-level language and working up from printing "Hello, World" to a reasonably complex program. This will allow you to learn how to transform your general ideas into concrete algorithms. Only then should you start looking at engines and other, more efficient languages (I prefer C++) and art design. This will take time. Lots of time. But it is worth it if you pull through.

There are plenty of tutorials out there for every common language. Google is your friend.