• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Vendetta8247

Transformation matrices and linear algebra in 2d development

This topic is 1009 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

*This question is a duplicate from Stack Exchange site. Their rules don't allow questions like this so I will copy it to this forum*

I am trying to get into game development and I have started with a simple 2D platformer. I've also had some experience with XNA. At the moment I'm studying OpenGL ES and this is the second time when I face matrices in gamedev. I've decided to read about matrices and linear algebra in general (as I have attended a 6 month course 4 years ago). Doing so I have faced a question/issue. I'm not sure how to use it in 2D development and if it's as necessary as it is in 3D. Correct me if I'm wrong but transformation matrices are needed in 3D to show perspective. And in general (both 2D and 3D) it's needed for rotation, moving and so on.

My main question is: What is the need in matrices and linear algebra if I'm making a 2D game? What do I need to know about linear algebra or advanced (I mean something besides basic arithmetics and physics) math for the correct understanding of gamedev? Are there any good books for learning algebra for gamedev specifically? Are there any specifics in OpenGL about matrices and transforming or should I write all of these by myself?

Advertisement

You could try glm and avoid all the trouble of doing it yourself. It's good to understand how/why things work but you certainly don't need to be able to implement things yourself. You don't necessarily need matrices for a 2D game, you could define everything in screen space and rotate easy enough with a simple formula. Matrices just neatly wrap things up.