• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Need help with making a game. Need tips and more

This topic is 775 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Note: If i seem like i dont know very much java, I dont, I only know a bit of it and would like to learn a few things on Game Dev

I have a bit of knowledge on coding with eclipse, I would like to either make a game similar to minecraft or terraria, a 3D game or 2D, If you could help and show some examples I'd be glad to learn how to code games, I have NEVER made a game before, And i would like to learn and experience it while asking questions on what to do. This is my first time on this site so I will be probably staying on most of the time for help. And i will be using eclipse.

Advertisement

Welcome to the gamedev forums. And I'll officially be the first one to tell you this on this forums I guess.

Lower your goals. Minecraft, Terraria, Starbound, and any randomly generated content game uses a set of alogirthms to get the results that you see. These algorithms are not trivial to implement correctly for the use of any game. They require a good deal of understanding some of the foundations that goes into game programming. Of course I guess you could always get some sort of Unity plug in that does the work for you. *shrugs*.

My suggestion. Get more accustomed to the language that you are using. Make Pong, then a mario clone, then a metroidvania, etc.

Of course I guess you could always get some sort of Unity plug in that does the work for you. *shrugs*.

This is pretty misleading. There is no way quick & easy way to develop a monstrous sized game like Minecraft. Such games have taken a great deal of time and knowledge to reach their current scales.

Start real small. Some small games to get started on could be: Pong, asteroids, four-in-a-row.