Learning SDL For Game Development

Started by
20 comments, last by Tanay Karnik 7 years, 12 months ago

Hello!

I am new to Game Development and started with SDL and C++. Well I'm a bit confused with learning SDL.

I know that great tutorials are available at http://lazyfoo.net

But using those I'll learn about using SDL and its features. How do I understand implementing SDL in game development. Of Course I could try to figure out it on my own. But then how I will understand the best practices.

I even got the book SDL Game Development after reaching till page 65 and so... I thought that the author is going about things pretty much his way. So I might feel boring at some times and get interested in some further things (I suppose it isn't my way of learning).

So what do I do?

Should I follow the tutorials at lazyfoo.net and then come back and focus on game development ( if yes, how? ) or is there any better resource which will guide me to both simultaneously. I have already learned a few things about SDL and hence made up my mind to start with it for game development there (so no changing minds there).

In short, I want to learn to things the SDL library and game development ( along with the best practices and tricks, etc ). So which of them should I learn first or both simultaneously. And what resources do you suggest?

Advertisement

SDL is just the library talking to your OS for video/mouse/keyboard/sound, nothing more. It's not a complicated library to use.

The far bigger part of the challenge is making a game.

On the other hand, you do need SDL, or you cannot show anything, or ask about the position of the mouse cursor, mouse clicks, and so on.

My strategy would be to make yourself a basic program that can open a window and talk with the OS about mouse and keys, and then switch to game development.

Extend the SDL interface as needed.