• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Pong Game: Technical Review And Specs

This topic is 763 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello!

Okay, so I read this guide on gamedev.net, learned some basic things in SDL, and started for making my first game i.e. Pong.

I have some knowledge regarding keyboard events, collision detection, etc. So, I hope that its enough for starting out with making that game.

Well, before starting to write the I tried to figure our how my game would look, work, etc. I designed and graphics, and then spent approximately 30-45 minutes to figure out how the ball bounces.

This is what I figured out:

• The ball object has a variable 'direction' which has value from 0 to 360. 0 being the top direction, 90 being the right direction, 180 being the down direction and 270 being the left direction.
  • The ball will have a 'forward' function with which It will move ahead in the direction which he is facing. I achieved this by using some trigonometry.
  • After some more thinking and trying I understood that: If the ball is moving in direction 'x' and collides with a horizontal surface (the walls) then his direction will change to (90 - x). Similarly if he collides with a vertical surface (the paddles), his direction will change to (360 - x).

Some problems/doubts which I have:

Capture.png

In the above image the ball collides with down edge of the paddle, what will happen? If the paddle has velocity in the downward direction then should the ball reflect?

Please tell me the correct physics with which the ball should work (not how to implement, I'll try to figure it out on my own). And also tell me if there are any flaws in my method.

P.S: What about the graphics of my game? Are they looking good or the color scheme is not fitting?

Advertisement