• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
KernalPanic

Currently perusing a Computer Science degree, but I think I may be on the wrong path.

This topic is 962 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

January 2015 I started perusing a a Computer Science BS I really enjoyed it and in my part time I started learning Unity. Fast forward to now I am still doing alright in college, but I find that I am very bored/uninterested in my programming courses. I only really care about programming games but not so much anything else. I feel as though the Computer Science BS is not for me and I'm not sure where to turn. Just wanted to put this out there and get some thoughts.

Advertisement

Trust me on this one, all the CS courses you take actually get you somewhere. You really can't do much without the concepts you learn in computer science. And the CS degree gives you a better understanding about how everything works, which will eventually become critical to you keeping your job.

Just finish it, if you get any choices then choose the things that interest you, if you ever get the opportunity to 'gamify' something then do so projects/dissertations/thesis are good places for this. It wasn't until years after my degrees that I really saw the relevance of some of the things I learned and a lot of the things are still irrelevant. That's just the nature of it.

I'm in the 'stick with it' camp.