• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

OpenGL Creating an infinite grid in OpenGL 2.1

This topic is 650 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone,

I am very new to coding with Opengl. I am currently creating a view where it is an infinte grid. At least, infinte in the the sense that everytime the user pans, the view will update to show the grid.

For the first version, I was thinking that I would have dots to indicate the grid markings. I have some code but I am not sure what is precisely wrong with it. Maybe I am thinking about it the wrong way.

What should be happening is that when the code is executed, dots indicating the grid markings will appear. The idea is that everytime the user pans across the scene, the program will redraw the dots

void geometryEditorCanvas::drawGrid()
{
	// Clears the color buffer
//	glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);

//Reset to modelview matrix
//	glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
//	glPopMatrix();

for(double i = 0; i < factor; i++)
	{
		for(double j = 0; j < factor; j++)
		{
			glBegin(GL_POINT);
			glColor3d(0.0d, 0.0d, 0.0d);
				glVertex2d(j * coordinateFactorWidth, i * coordinateFactorHeight);
			glEnd();
		}
	}
}

void geometryEditorCanvas::onGeometryPaint(wxPaintEvent &event)
{
	wxGLCanvas::SetCurrent(*geometryContext);// This will make sure the the openGL commands are routed to the wxGLCanvas object
	wxPaintDC dc(this);// This is required for drawing

render();

drawGrid();
	glFlush();
	SwapBuffers();// Display the output
}

For those wondering, I am developing a 2D scene and the UI library that I am using is wxWidgets. If you need more of the code please let me know, thank you

Edited by philm001

Advertisement

You say "I am not sure what is precisely wrong" but you're not describing what's going on here at all.