Sign in to follow this  
localplutonium

what would be the cost of this implementation?

I have recently been thinking about implementation of "human birth"/existence. What I mean by this is for example, have a fixed amount of AIs in each user's instance of the video game. Each game starts off with for example 10 instances of an AI class and no more instances would ever be created.

For example, if there were 10,000 AIs in a game like GTA or Skyrim , the game would begin with 10,000 AI instances walking around the game and the same ones would be used each time you load your saved game until you delete your saved file or kill them all.  Also each AI has its own brain so its an independent thread or something.

I have no experience programming video games or much knowledge of  video game development software. I understand computers on a hardware level and study lots of Oop and focus on API development.
I would like to know if this would generally be costly (in terms of time and memory) and lets say we were using a general video game design with a standard architecture and programming languages?

Edited by localplutonium

I don't think your question is clear
but will answer and you elaborate

still depends on implementation like how big is brain data for storage, it could be simple as saying which kind of brain personality or complex like having intention list, complex personality.. if you talking about storage and 10000 units it will cost but not that costy.. if it is performance nowadays we can use gpgpu which is good to mass process data such as 10k AI units.

It would cost anything between nothing and infinite amounts of money.

I can give you the first form of AI for free:

class AI {
public:
    AI();
    ~AI();
};

You'd need to extend this AI with load and save capabilities, but I am sure you can manage that.

I agree this AI is not doing much. It doesn't need its own thread for processing even.