Sign in to follow this  
mychii

Optimization issue when using operator=

Hi guys,

I am still getting into C++ and messing around with comparing a simple hand-written Vec2 with glm's vec2, and I kinda found a quite funny result.

Code first:

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <chrono>

#include <glm/vec2.hpp>

class Vec2
{
public:
	float a;
	float b;

Vec2()
	{

}

Vec2(float a, float b) : a(a), b(b)
	{

}

~Vec2()
	{

}

void operator=(Vec2 const& v)
	{
		// it doesn't even do anything yet.
	}

Vec2& operator*(Vec2 const& v)
	{
		this->a *= v.a;
		this->b *= v.b;

return *this;
	}
};

int main()
{
	auto t_start = std::chrono::high_resolution_clock::now();

Vec2 v{ 2.0f, 2.0f };
	Vec2 vv{ 2.0f, 2.0f };
	Vec2 vr;

for (int i = 0; i < 10000000; ++i)
	{
		vr = vv;
	}

auto t_end = std::chrono::high_resolution_clock::now();

std::cout << std::fixed << std::chrono::duration<double, std::milli>(t_end - t_start).count() << std::endl;

t_start = std::chrono::high_resolution_clock::now();

glm::vec2 v2{ 2.0f, 2.0f };
	glm::vec2 v22{ 2.0f, 2.0f };
	glm::vec2 vres;

for (int i = 0; i < 10000000; ++i)
	{
		vres = v22;
	}

t_end = std::chrono::high_resolution_clock::now();

std::cout << std::fixed << std::chrono::duration<double, std::milli>(t_end - t_start).count() << std::endl;

return 0;
}

I make a simple assignment using my Vec2 operator= for 10m iterations. It takes roughly around 390ms compare to glm's vec2 that is 28ms on my machine. I even removed the code inside it, it is still like that. This is completely the opposite when I'm doing a multiplication (operator*), which is ~410ms vs ~668ms.

So assume there's something wrong or missing when I'm doing operator=, but I really don't know what it is.

I've tried to get as close as glm's code I saw in type_vec2.inl.

Cheers~

Edited by Alectora

A good compiler should optimize away your entire test. Therefore, it is dangerous to make assumptions based on what you have here.

EDIT: