• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Lutfi Baker

Unity How to make Lobby and login systems For multiplayer Fps Game

This topic is 791 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi

To Be Honest it's my first time here ... me and team of 8 guys are making multiplayer fps game with unity ( we have already desgined the game (From weapons to players , we are working on the maps ) we have 4 guys know languages (C# / OpenGl / C++ and other languages ( am not the coder so idk so much things about it ) ( we all learned through videos ) ... our problem is with lobby and login system how those are made (the lobby not only rooms i mean also the store , warehouse and setting ...) so can u give me links to where should i go to learn making these things or if u can explain how they are made.

Thanks Alot

Advertisement

If you and 8 other people can't figure this out, then perhaps this is beyond the scope of what you should be creating?

In the last online fps I created, I used Java and OpenGL. I would imagine the programming flow would be similar to that of Unity.

I set my game up with a game-state, where if the game-state was set to "playing" it would treat incoming packets normally and move entities around the 3d space properly. If the game-state was set to "lobby" it would force all the client to draw a UI over the game, and the UI would display things like player names and a server-sided counter until the game would start.

Things like in-game purchases would be a little harder to set up. I believe the easiest thing would to have your own game currency, where users could trade in money for the currency. Then purchasing in-game items would be as simple as checking the users current balance and applying an item.