• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Displaying dialogue in Unity

This topic is 694 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey everyone!

I'm working on an RPG and I need to display the dialogue the NPCs speak, but I have very little experience with Unity's UI functionality. I want to display the dialogue in a style very much like Undertale's style, meaning, a box that starts blank and gets filled with text gradually, sometimes making short pauses to imitate a person's speaking rhythm. Check out some Undertale videos if you don't understand what I'm talking about.  

Edit: The short pauses are actually kind of optional (I would rather lose them if it's really complicated implementing them). Also, to go to the next line of dialogue the player would have to press a button. 

Thank you very much and have an awesome day! :)

Edited by ForkyTheEditor

Advertisement

What UI System are you using?

I know, stuff like that is quite easy to do using NGUI. I did some extensive work with NGUI, involving rolling text, scrolling windows and all. You can update NGUI Widgets ingame, so set up a script that changes the text attribute of the NGUI Widget showing the text (a "label", most of the time).

As for the new UGUI: https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/GUI.Label.html

I guess you are using Labels to contain the text displayed in your UI Windows. Did you already try to update the text ingame?

If you don't know what I mean, I am trying to explain this fairly quickly.

- Set up your label, no text assigned at first. Add the label to the window to make sure the text is displayed at the right place (will not go into UGUI Specifics, haven't really used it myself before)