A guide on procedural sprite animation.

Started by
-1 comments, last by Night Gleam Studio 7 years, 10 months ago

I’d like to share a tale of how I made a procedural animation set for the main character of my game. I’m a programmer and possess no artistic ability whatsoever, so the task seemed daunting at first. But after a bit of experimenting I’ve managed to turn this

• into
  • this. Since I’ve been fairly satisfied with the result and there’s not much information on the topic, I’ve decided to write a small guide on how to achieve a similar effect in your game.

Prerequisites.

In order to follow the steps of this guide, basic knowledge of the image rendering mechanism is required. Basically, if phrases like “mesh” or “vertex buffer” don’t scare you – you are good to go =).

Also for proper implementation of this technique, the engine you use must be advanced enough to support direct manipulation of vertex and texture coordinates buffers.

Even if some of those things aren’t true, the last chapter gives information on a high level API that you can use to achieve the same result – might want to look into that!

Overview.

The technique is called Free-Form Deformation. When you create a sprite, your renderer sees it as a set of 4 points and a texture that is stretched over them. We can apply linear transformations to the points – that allows us to move, rotate and skew the sprite. Not enough for complex animations! We need to step up our approach and:

• Create a proper mesh – a set of several 2D vertices that cover our image

• Find an appropriate texture coordinate for each vertex.
    • During an update cycle, apply a chosen transformation to a subset of the vertices (without moving the texture coordinates).
    • Upload the changes to the renderer and enjoy the results.

Step 1: Crafting a mesh.