• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Romee

Switching from C++ to Java

This topic is 919 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone.

Some time ago I started learning C++ as my first programming language. I bought a book and
never regretted it. I nearly finished the book (I learned much, from variables to templates), but decided that I wanted to learn Java first,
because of two reasons: 1) I wanted to start making something 'more fancy' than staring at the console. I wanted to either learn web development or software (desktop GUI)/mobile app development. I chose the last one due to my second reason.
2) After next year I'm going to university and currently I'm thinking that I want to study Computer Sciences. On this particular university, the first language that is used is Java, so I think learning Java now, will help me then.

Now my first question is, what are some good resources (I prefer books) to learn Java, if you already know some fair amount of C++. With such a resource I mean a book that doesn't go over the basics of programming over and over, but goes a bit more in depth and maybe already introduces some GUI/mobile development.

My second question: currently there are a lot of books regarding Java Android development or Java (swift) GUI development. Would it be wise to start immidiately with such a book, or would it be better if I first go through a book I asked for in the first question?

If you want me to explain something about my question, just ask!

Many thanks, your help is appreciated.

Advertisement