• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

LLVM-SPIRV Instruction Mapping

This topic is 664 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm in the progress of writing the llvm backend for a shading language, and I'm slightly confused on how to handle the instruction mapping. I've had success on mapping the types (Which is fairly simple), but so far I've had to play the guessing games a bit for the instructions. Now this is mostly my fault, since I'm new to the llvm scene, but some examples (Which I cant seem to find) on instruction mapping in the SPIRV-LLVM project would be fantastic.

From the (Rather short) wiki:

Some SPIR-V instructions which can be included in basic blocks do not have corresponding LLVM instructions or intrinsics. These SPIR-V instructions are represented by function calls in LLVM. The function corresponding to a SPIR-V instruction is termed SPIR-V builtin function and its name is IA64 mangled with extensions for SPIR-V specific types. The unmangled name of a SPIR-V builtin function follows the convention

__spirv_{OpCodeName}{_OptionalPostfixes}

where {OpCodeName} is the op code name of the SPIR-V instructions without the "Op" prefix, e.g. EnqueueKernel. {OptionalPostfixes} are optional postfixes to specify decorations for the SPIR-V instruction. The SPIR-V op code name and each postfix does not contain "_".

SPIR-V builtin functions accepts all argument types accepted by the corresponding SPIR-V instructions. The literal operands of extended instruction are mapped to function call arguments with type i32.

So as described above, the unmangled name for an implicit lod sampling instruction would look as following I believe:

__spirv_ + str(OpImageSampleImplicitLod) + _SomeOptionalPostFixes