• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

kkitchin

Scene Graphs, the Universe and Everything

This topic is 6085 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm a reasonably experienced programmer who has just started out with OpenGL. Its always been an ambition of mine to write a game engine, so now I am finally getting around to it. Thanks to plenty of beer and Doritos I've got to a point where my first graphics engine is coming along quite nicely, I've got MD2 models loading and animating (ok,ok _slowly_ animating ), terrain, particles etc. All pretty basic stuff. Now I want to move this engine out of nursery school and into the real world (so to speak). I want to start implementing a real scene graph. I have some ideas, but before I plunge into the code I thought I'd turn to the Nehe gurus for comments and advice. As I understand it, a scene graph is a hierarchical structure used to display the scene. Its hierarchical to allow you to do nifty things like cull parts of the scene outside of the view volume, work out what objects to test for collision detection, support local lighting and other environmental stuff etc etc Here is my design for a scene graph for your comment, let me know if I'm getting remotely warm: The scene graph will be a tree of Nodes. Each Node will contain the following things: a bounding box a list of surfaces (optionally) an environment controller The bounding box is just a simple axis aligned box that defines the space occupied by the node. A child node must fit within the bounding box of its parent. The list of surfaces is just the triangles, quads etc that will be drawn when this node of the graph is rendered. The environment controller will set up local lighting effects and other environmental stuff (fogging/gravity/wierd stuff i can't think of yet)for this