• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Looking for someone to review my code

This topic is 653 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello!

I am pretty new to the game development. For my language of choice I decided to pick up C++ and used SFML as framework. As I am beginner I decided to start with a humble project, that being Pong! I've finished base game pretty quickly so I decided I would like to make it more interesting and practice a bit more on it so I added stuff like Powerups which can be hooked which will either increase size of your paddle or give you a gun that shoots bullets(Bullets don't do much atm). Now I would like for someone to go over my code and give me some tips on what I did wrong or if I could do something better. I don't really expect you to go through ALL of my code just quickly go over some parts of it. Here is my bitbucket project: https://bitbucket.org/toniron95/phingyphongy/src/d31aa1391feb8ef8435fafab85a598231d61d052/PingyPongy/src/?at=master .

Thank you!

Advertisement

I had a brief look and it seems really good. It's neat, easy to follow and I can't see anything immediate that jumps out to me. You are using references a lot so you're avoiding issues with pointers but I did spot a few times pointers being passed in to methods and used without checking if they are non-null first (I think it was the power ups). Also, can anything fail on here? For example, what happens if the textures fail to load?

A little bit of hardening, checking variable have sensible values, pointers aren't null, any methods that can fail gives feedback for that (mainly when initialising) even if it's just returning false. Things that might seem ok and unnecessary for this project might end up causing you a lot of headache when you work on something larger. Looks great though, good job.