• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
DiscountVisionary

Creating "Equipable" Items That Have Unique Functions

This topic is 882 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello for the first time. I am still very new to C++ but understand the basics. I am taking on a larger project for the first time. I'm aiming to make turn based battle game (like FF1). The most important goal i have is to make items, that have multiple individually scripted functions, that can then be equiped in a set of slots for the player.

Originally I was planning to make an inheritance based system but my original idea didn't pan out.

I'm looking for any ideas on how I can create items that have unique functions and how i could allow the player to equip and use those items and their functions.

Advertisement

A unique item can make available a list of commands/actions that it supports, so you could just use them as a way to interact with each unique item.

For example:

class Action
{
public:
    std::string id;
    std::string actionType;
}

class Item
{
public:
    virtual std::string GetItemName();
    virtual std::string GetItemType();
    virtual std::vector<Action> GetSupportedActions();
    virtual void DoAction(std::string actionId);
}

class EquipableItem : public Item
{
public:
// add anything specific to EquipableItems
}

class ItemA : public EquipableItem
{
public:
    std::vector<Action> GetSupportedActions() override;
    void DoAction(std::string actionId) override;
}

class ItemB : public EquipableItem
{
public:
    std::vector<Action> GetSupportedActions() override;
    void DoAction(std::string actionId) override;
}

class ItemSlot
{
public:
    virtual std::string GetSlotId();
    virtual std::vector<std::string> GetSupportedItemTypes(); // What kind of items can we equip in this slot
    virtual void EquipItem(EquipableItem* item);