• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
QQemka

External Level Editor?

This topic is 881 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello. I got to a point in my engine development where I can do most "stuff" required for a basic game. I've got several concerns I'm going to ask about here.

First of all - level editor. I cannot imagine creating one myself, especially when there are tools like Blender which may come in handy. I am a programmer, and so I would like to ask someone who's been around if Blender can be used to create and export entire scene with my (detailed) requirements?

I want to have a 512x512 quad heightmap split in 256 32x32 chunks (for frustum culling). Then, information about all used mesh objects (model information with vertex xyz, tex uv,normals, and simplified collision mesh), instances of each mesh on the scene (xyz location, yaw pitch roll). That would do for the very beginning, from what I read I'd have to write a python script to convert it into my engine format. Is that doable only in Blender?

Second thing - shadows. My engine supports dynamic lighting (nothing too fancy) but I've got problem with shadows. Lighting goes through walls and lits the objects that are hidden behind something and shouldnt get the light. I'm going to have only one "sun", so I would like to "calculate" all the lit areas and shadows during "scene compilation" precisely, and just load it without calculating it every frame over and over - as i said the sun will be static. And again - is Blender capable of doing so? I did not find any d3d11 tutorials on shadows, so I'm kinda green when it comes to that topic... :)

Thanks in advance

Advertisement