• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

What Makes A Game Look Realistic?

This topic is 619 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

This is a rather general question: what defines the realism in a game? All I can think about are texture quality and higher polygon count. I'm no professional designer, so I'm not sure what goes into a scene that makes it look real(other than the stated examples). I've just recently started 3D programming, thus I won't be making the next Battlefield anytime soon, this question is solely asked for my curiosity.

Note: I'm not asking for code or language-specific examples, just the general variables that differentiate a game that looks unrealistic and a game that looks realistic, such as a lighting system. 

(If this has been asked before, please reference the link to the page).

Advertisement

Yup, an accurate lighting system will be huge towards achieving realism. In addition to that you'll want your artists to be experienced with these types of physically based lighting systems so you can't create "impossible" materials or lighting setups.

Offline rendering methods such as path tracers already can achieve photorealism, but the techniques used there are way too expensive to apply in a real-time context.

I think that.... lightning illuminates something. And that we pay too much atention to the lightning itself only, omiting what we illuminate. Normal map is a picture! A constant set of data (an identical thing under angles is identical thing to human observer).

Seeing all the time the very same thing under angles, while it would have been changed radicaly in reality!

This is blocking the actual interactive realistic video experience. We need to have volatile surfaces, normals, etc. Games can produce realistic stills, but if you move in them- Ups!