• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
vlj

Using Convolution Network To Upscale Texture?

This topic is 809 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

There was some outstanding demo of deep neural network being developed for artistic purpose. Google wrote deep dream which mix a content image and a style image and output an image combining both. Neural doodle extend the idea by taking a single 4 color map and output a "Monnet like" picture.

I wonder if it is possible to create and train a dnn that could upscale a texture. I know it has been done for manga/anime picture, and neural doodle can be used to "transfer" high resolution picture on minecraft blocky texture.
Unfortunately I have no experience with dnn. I know the theory behind neural network and I know the math Def of a convolution however I think I'm missing some knowledge to correctly understand dnn articles and latest evolution.

Is there some "dnn theory for game dev" resources available and can the technic be used to upscale texture?

Advertisement

Absolutely, neural networks could do a lot of repetitive art tasks well enough to fully automate them. LOD creation, UV mapping, etc. etc.

Unfortunately the people with actual, practical knowledge of how to create modern neural network stuff are few, far between, and all getting bought up by Google and stuff. Still, no reason anyone reading this can't look into it if they really wanted to deep dive on the subject.

You can, but you will have to train it on what kind of details it should be adding in the blurry/upsampled areas... and then when you use it to upsample a texture, it will synthesise the kinds of details that you've trained it to... so it won't work as a general upscaling filter, but as a specific detail enhancer.