Sign in to follow this  

Use of user journeys in game development

This topic is 486 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, I’m new to the game development process. But I have to do a research for user journeys and their use in a game development process. I've found only examples of projects which used User Stories. I know, that based on the context, it can be the same. What I know so far - or believe to know - is: In an agile game development user stories are used in the sprint backlog.

If I define user journeys being "a series of steps (...) which represent a scenario in which a user might interact with the" product (as defined here), it does not make sense to replace user stories by user journeys in the sprint backlog. Or am I wrong?

User stories describe functionality from the user’s perspective.
User journeys are a higher view on the topic. It also includes the user’s environment etc.

For marketing purpose there are a lot of articles about Customer Journey Maps, Experience Maps …, which describes the end-to-end experience with a product. I could also define user journeys as the end-to-end experience from user's start to stop playing the game.

Does anyone know an example of user journeys used in either way in a game development process or can tell from one's own experience? I would be grateful for any hints. I've spent hours of searching but I'm not able to find anything. Maybe I’m on the totally wrong way with my keywords … any hints? 

I know we've never used them, at least to my knowledge.

From the description, it looks like the kind of thing instructors put in to try to prove that a concept is used in industry where you look for something that doesn't exist, find things that somewhat match what a person might have done, and thereby establish to a young impressionable student that it is actually industry standard.