• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
KarimIO

GLSL: Incorrect WorldPosition

This topic is 687 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi guys! Not a beginner here, but I'm having a beginner problem.

I'm using deferred rendering in my project. I noticed (around 2 months after finishing my basic rendering code, lol) that my outputted WorldPosition is different from how it should be; compare the Altair model with the Crytek Sponza background: Position Space-colored Image Notice how the change to green is more gradual on the character (I'm guessing 10x slower). To clarify, the projected vertices are in the correct position. It's just that the world space positions in the fragment shader seem to be messed up. What could be causing this?

i.imgur.com/j73W9sW.png

Code :
glm::mat4x4 EBaseEntity::getModelMatrix() {
    glm::mat4x4 Model = glm::mat4(1);
    Model = glm::translate(
        Model,
        position);
    Model = glm::scale(Model, getScale());
    float maxRot = (glm::max(glm::max(angles.x, angles.y), angles.z));
    if (maxRot > 0)
        Model = glm::rotate(Model, maxRot, angles / maxRot);

return Model;
}

Both models are treated the same on the CPU end. Here are main.vs and main.fs, the vertex and fragment shaders.

Code :
#version 330
layout(location = 0) in vec3 vertexPos;

uniform mat4 matTotal;
uniform mat4 matModel;

out vec4 WorldPos;

void main () {
WorldPos = matModel * vec4(vertexPos, 1.0);
gl_Position = matTotal * WorldPos;
}

Fragment Shader:

Code :
#version 330

in vec4 WorldPos;

layout(location = 0) out vec4 position;

void main() {
position = WorldPos;
}

Advertisement