• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

amreshr

DXBall questions (newbie questions)

This topic is 6083 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I am a newbie to OpenGL, SDL, OpenAL and game programming in general, so please excuse. I am trying to make a small clone of DXBall/Breakout and have some questions that have cropped while trying to design the game. When the game starts, the mouse cursor disappears (not full screeb mode, but the paddle is controlled by the mouse. Is it because he has restricted the mouse movement along the x-axis, or hidden the cursor, but associated a rectangle with the cursor? If the mouse movement is restricted, then is it possible to do it is SDL? If the mouse is hidden, the mousedown event is not generated when I move the mouse to the extreme end (away from the main app window). How does he restrict the mouse movement to the game. How is angle of incedence of the ball to the paddle calculated atan((y2-y1)/(x2-x1)) or is he using the normals that are present for the surfaces? If so, how? The last one: How does he calculate the collision of the ball and the bricks? Is a matrix kept? or are the locations of each brick kept somewhere and collision detected for each movement (I think that this is very slow!). I can''t seem to figure this out! TIA Amresh ramresh@dsqsoft.com

Advertisement
quote:

The last one: How does he calculate the collision of the ball and the bricks? Is a matrix kept? or are the locations of each brick kept somewhere and collision detected for each movement (I think that this is very slow!).

you can define a few areas... in this areas you put the bricks.. than you check in which area the ball is.. and than you just check for collisions...

i think it´s a bit faster